How to see who has blocked you on Instagram? what you need to know
- Instagram does not send any notification when an account is blocked.
- Being blocked from an account is different from having an Instagram profile set to private.
- A simple search is a better alternative to third-party apps to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram.
This article describes how to tell if someone has blocked you on Instagram.
How to see who has blocked you on Instagram?
What happens when someone blocks you on Instagram? Actually, nothing. Instagram doesn’t send a notification to tell you that you’ve been blocked. You’ll never know when someone blocks you unless you go looking for them later and realize you can’t access their profile.
- Someone’s account activity has decreased and you haven’t seen his actions or stories in your feed or received direct messages from him for some time.
- Go to the search bar. Enter the name of the person’s Instagram account. If you can’t find the account, it may be an indication that they have blocked you or deleted your account.
When doubts keep bothering you, use a few more methods to find out if you’ve been blocked or it’s just a mistake on your part.
- Find your account. Go to the bar search in the app and enter your username. If the account does not appear in the results, you have been blocked or your account has been deleted.
- Use an old comment or a DM to get to their profile. If their profile appears but also displays a User Not Found message along with a No Posts Yet message in the photo grid, it indicates that the person has blocked you.
This only works if they have exchanged messages with you. If they haven’t, then use the next steps on this list.
- Visit his Instagram profile on the web. If you can see their profile in the browser but not in the app, it means that you have been blocked. If you can’t see the profile through Instagram on the web, the person could have deleted your account.
- Use a friend’s account. If you can see the account through your friend’s Instagram app but not your own, you are blocked. Alternatively, if you don’t want to involve a friend, create a second Instagram account and use that to search.
- Follow them. Go to Instagram on the web and open their profile page in the browser. Check if you’ve been blocked by tapping the blue follow button. If you’ve been blocked, the button won’t work and Instagram could indicate a problem with a message.
- Look for likes and comments in the groups and other accounts you follow. This indicates that the user has not deleted their account, but only blocked you.
When someone blocks you, they can’t see your profile on Instagram either. You don’t need to block it in turn if you don’t want to. There is little you can do when you are blocked.