How to Keep Your Private Photos Safe?

How to Keep Your Private Photos Safe?  Google Photos is an incredibly useful app, especially if you’re just learning how to shoot on iPhone. Not only does it have some of the best organization tools for your photos and videos, but it also offers unlimited cloud storage for your entire photo library for free.

But how can it be free? doDoes that mean it’s not safe?? Is Google going to use the images I upload? Read on to delve into how private it really is. Google Photos for iPhone and Android what steps you can take to help protect your privacy?

Is it safe to store and share with Google Photos?

There is an obvious concern any time you upload your photos to an online service, and you should exercise that same level of concern when you upload them to Google Photos. Although Google does everything possible to protect its services, there is always the possibility of vulnerability and the risk that someone can access your images and videos.

All of this is to say that you should be cautious and use common sense with sensitive photos or videos before uploading them to Google Photos.

Are Google photos private?

The simple answer is yes; by default, Google Photos is private. Everything you upload can only be seen by you. And luckily, the only way to change one of your photo permissions is to log in to your account and share your photos with another user.

Can anyone have access to my photos?

The only way someone can access your photos on Google Photos is if you choose to share them with that person. But keep in mind that when you share an image with someone, Google Photos sends you a link. While it’s unlikely someone else will get access to that link, if they do, they’ll also get access to your image.

Can Google access my photos?

Yes, Google can and does access your photos. But that doesn’t mean your images will be used in Google Photos ads or to complete Google image searches. According to some reports on the Internet, what this access means is that Google can scan your photos for metadata to target you with advertising.

How to Keep Your Private Photos Safe?

Although you may only upload personal images or family videos to Google Photos, there are a few additional steps you can take to help ensure your photo library stays private.

How to create a private album in Google Photos

The great thing about Google Photos is that by default, your entire photo library is private. Follow these steps to create an album that only you can see:

  1. On your iPhone, open the Google Photos app.
  2. Tap Album > New Album.
  3. Type a title for the album.
  4. Tap Select photos.
  5. Add any images or videos you want to that album.
  6. Tap Add.

You don’t have to worry about including all the images you want in that album right now. You can always add more at any time.

How to hide photos in Google Photos?

Yes ok, Google Photos does not have a «disguise«, you can archive images, which will move them from your main library to an archive. Follow these steps to archive an image in Google Photos:

  1. Select the photos you want to archive.
  2. In the top right corner, tap the ellipses.
  3. Tap Archive.

How to create a shared album?

In addition to creating private albums, Google Photos also allows you to create shared albums with other users. In Google Photos, you can turn any album into a shared album:

  1. Open the album you want to share.
  2. Tap the ellipses in the top right corner.
  3. Tap Options.
  4. Turn on Share Album.

After you turn on sharing for an album, you’ll be able to invite people and decide whether or not they can add their own pictures, like their pictures, or even include them.

Privacy tips for Google Photos

If you’re new to using Google Photos, this may all sound a bit daunting, but as you use the app, there are a couple of privacy tips to keep in mind.

  • Only share photos with people you know.
  • Check the sharing settings on each album you create.
  • Don’t upload images to Shared Albums of people you don’t know.
  • Turn on Remove geolocation on items shared by link.
  • Turn off Google Location History in Google Photos settings.
  • Occasionally check the sharing settings in your account to maintain privacy.

Google Photos is a great service for your entire photo library. It’s easy to use and has some of the best tools to keep your library organized. But like any other cloud service, you need to be careful what you sync and make sure you’re doing everything you can to keep your images and videos safe.

With that said, we hope this article has given you some things to think about and helped give you the information you need to use Google Photos safely and confidently.

Leave a Comment