When you take photos or videos to send to your friends on Snapchat, there is no way to undo them once they have been sent. You can delete the message, but there is no 100 percent guarantee that the recipient does not see it. So here we will check How to delete messages on Snapchat?
Since the chat messages are automatically deleted as soon as you leave the chat, the following instructions assume that you currently have an open chat with a friend or group.
These instructions can be followed for both the iOS and Android versions of the Snapchat app, but please note that the screenshots below are from the iOS version.
- Hold your finger on the message you’ve sent that you want to delete in the chat tab.
- Press Remove.
- Play the purple button Delete to confirm that you want to delete it. Keep in mind that your friends in the chat will be able to see that you have deleted something.
There is no guarantee that your friends will not see your message even if you delete it. They could get ahead of you and see the message if they were quick enough. Snapchat also notes that deletion doesn’t always work depending on certain circumstances, such as if a friend has a spotty internet connection or uses an old version of the app.
Why can’t photo and video snaps be undone?
In previous versions of the Snapchat app, users discovered certain tricks that worked to unsend photo or video snaps:
- Activating airplane mode;
- Removing the recipient of the snap from the sender’s friends list;
- Blocking the recipient of the snap;
- Logging out of the sender’s account
- Uninstalling the app from the sender’s device; Y
- Deactivating or deleting your (the sender’s) account.
Maybe these tricks will work back in the day, but not anymore with newer application versions. As soon as you send a snap, it is uploaded to Snapchat’s cloud-based system.
Once the recipient opens a snap they received from a friend or group of friends, they delete it automatically from the Snapchat servers. Any action you intend to perform on your part after sending a snap will not work because the snap has already reached the cloud.
The only time you can undo (delete) a photo or video Snap is if it’s in the form of a Snapchat story. If you’ve taken a photo or video Snap and posted it to your stories, you can delete it by viewing the story, swiping up, and tapping the trash can icon. If you also sent it to friends/groups as a normal snap, you won’t be able to undo or delete it.
What can you undo on Snapchat?
While you can’t unsend photos or videos, you can unsend other types of content. “Undo send” is not the right word to describe it. “Delete” is more appropriate.
The Delete Chats feature on Snapchat allows users to delete chat messages they have sent to individuals or groups of friends. Chat is the thread of messages and interactions you see when you tap on the name of the friend or group in your Conversations tab.
Clear Chats is different from Clear Conversations from Snapchat, which deletes your recent interactions with friends and groups from your Conversations tab.
You can delete any of the following items from your chats:
- Stickers (including Bitmoji stickers);
- audio messages; Y
- Photos and videos are sent from the Memories tab (such as those saved or uploaded from your device).
Your friends will be able to see that you have deleted something in the chat.