How to Clear the SiteGround Cache?

Are you using SiteGround and want to clear your cache? We have something for you. This guide will show you different methods to quickly erase the SiteGround cache.

Introduction to Caching

As you probably know, WordPress uses PHP as the primary language and MySQL for backing up data.

If you are not caching any data to display your site, the server must examine the PHP files, get the content from the MySQL database, and create HTML content with the required data to deliver to the visitor. This process is time-consuming and uses unnecessary server resources.

However, you can streamline this process by caching the data.

Caching plugins, for example, generate a cached copy of your content and store it on their server. So when someone visits your site, they will serve it directly to the visitor.

The server does not need to retrieve the contents of your MySQL storage, which speeds up the process and saves valuable resources.

But when you update your website with new content, it doesn’t instantly reflect on the front. Your visitors can see the cached copy of the website instead of the last one. In these cases, clearing the website cache is a good option.

Why should I clear the SiteGround cache?

Typically, caching helps frequently visited websites load faster. Yes, improve the performance. However, sometimes the version of the site that is cached (stored) on your computer is different from the web version that you are trying to load.

This can create conflicts that prevent the website from functioning correctly, so clearing the cache can help you resolve this issue.

In WordPress, there are many tools to clear the cache. SiteGround, however, has its caching plugin called SG Optimizer. It integrates seamlessly with your SiteGround account, helps you manage your cache, and serves your web pages faster.

Therefore, if you are using SiteGround as your hosting service, we strongly recommend using SG Optimizer.

If you use SiteGround to host your site, you might need to access some specific tools to clear your cache. In this guide, we’ll show you how you can quickly clear the SiteGround cache to improve the performance of your website.

REMARK: Please note that the SG Optimizer plugin only works with SiteGround. If you are using another web hosting company, it’s going to work.

How to clear the SiteGround cache

There are different ways to clear the SiteGround cache:

  1. Using the SG Optimizer
  2. Log in to cPanel
  3. Contact support staff

Let’s take a closer look at each method to choose the best one for you.

Using SG Optimizer

This is the most accessible and straightforward process to clear the SiteGround cache.

Start by installing the plugin, so log into your WordPress website and navigate to Plugins> Add new. Search for SG Optimizer, install and activate the plugin.

You will see a button called Purge the SG cache on the top bar. Click on it, and it will automatically clear your SiteGround cache.

Via cPanel

Another option to clear your website cache is to use cPanel. To do this, you must log in to your SiteGround account and select the storage options cached in the left column of the section Speed.

To empty the dynamic cache, go to options dynamic cache and press Empty cache for the websites you want.

Additionally, SiteGround includes Memcached caching, which you can also clean up. To do this, go to the section Memcached and clean. Note that you cannot delete Memcached individually; you will have to do it for all sites at once.

That’s all! This is how you can clear the SiteGround cache through cPanel.

Contact your host

If you’re still having issues with your WordPress caching system, or if you’d relatively not clear the cache yourself, we recommend contacting your web host.

SiteGround comes with live chat support, so you can contact them to help clear your cache.

Alternatively, you may need to log into your SiteGround account and create a support ticket for more technical issues.

How to update your browser

To update and clear the old cache, you can use your browser’s full update feature. You can do this on both Windows and Mac machines.

To perform a full update, press Control + Shift + R if you are using Windows and Command + Shift + R if using Mac.

Leave a Comment